Questions to ask yourself by Patrick Miron

Questions, and more questions for me to ask “Me”

By Patrick Miron: I’m a Catholic

 1. Why Me?

2. Why Now?

3. Why Here?

“You can’t SHARE what you yourself don’t have”; or, you can’t give “it” away if you don’t have it

This, a personal philosophy of the late Father John A. Hardon S.J., a friend and mentor to me.

On those rare occasions when I run out of faith-sharing things to do, I like to ask myself the above questions. I have pondered this, and even wondered if Peter, Paul and the other Early Fathers have asked themselves the same questions? Questions that seem to be prudent, maybe even urgent to ask of ourselves. If we don’t have an understanding of what God calls each of us to do; each in the manner prescribed by God the Holy Spirit; then we are unable to fulfill God’s reasons for our very existence.

One of the many “wonders” of sharing our Catholic Faith, especially with those investigating it from other faith backgrounds; is the sheer joy and super-abundant enthusiasm with which they so often, but not always, embrace it, and are eager to share it; when God makes possible “right understanding” possible to them; when God offers His Grace and it is accepted and fully applied, and without which; right understanding is impossible.

All of them seem to have asked and answered the above questions. And each of them seem to have grasped the importance sharing what they have just “been offered.”  …  Christ own Faith. {singular} They have  just been given is an accurate way to describe Christ One true- Faith, which is, as it must be, necessarily a singular reality; and always a gift from God Himself, because we can share our Faith, but only God can Convert one’s mind, heart and soul.

John.15: 16 You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide; so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you.”

“Why me” leads me to ask: “why do I even exist?” And here is what first comes to my mind:

Isaiah 43 7 & 21 “And every one that calleth upon my name, I have created him for my glory, I have formed him, and made him.” & “This people have I formed for myself, they shall shew forth my praise.”

So God has chosen to use me in a ministry that I am otherwise unqualified to accomplish.

Why here? This one I thing I can grasp. God has placed me here at this specific time and place to fill either a need; or needs that with His help I am able to do. To be an “Apostle” means “to be sent out.” All of us; yes ALL of us are being called to contribute what we have been given, to build up the Church that Christ Himself founded {singular: “MY CHURCH” Mt. 16:18},  sharing the gifts we have been granted by the Holy Spirit, to “build up the Church of God”, which is and has been for 2,000 years, the means; and the Portal of ALL salvation.

2Cor.6: 16 “What agreement has the temple of God with idols? For we are the temple of the living God; as God said, “I will live in them and move among them, and I will be their God,
and they shall be my people. … “THEM” here being also singular tense. Certainly God could not have waited until the Protestant Reformation; over a thousand years to make His One set of Faiths beliefs known.

Because God is “One”; God’s Faith can, and is also Only One. And just as God choose only One “Chosen People; with whom He shared His Faith; so too Christ continues the tradition by founding, guiding and guarding just His Catholic Church; who alone is Cf. “holder of all the Key’s to heaven” {Mt. 16:15-19 & 28:1620}. Whatever talents and gifts God has given to me are given to me to build up His Church. Singular. Amen!

“WHY Now?” I’m not sure I know the complete answer, but I am aware of the urgent need for qualified and unqualified to both know, live publically and fully our Catholic Faith, so we can share it, can explain t and when necessary, can even defend it. A Recent P.E.W. report claims that only about 23-25% of self-identified Catholics bother to attend Sunday Mass. And only about 10% take advantage of Sacramental Confession; KNOWN forgiveness of one’s sins. Not just hope and blind speculation; but God’s assurance. And it seems to be getting worse rather than better.

Saint Paul makes it spectacularly clear in 1st. Cor. 12: 1-10; 28-30 {but read the entire chapter.}

“Now concerning spiritual things, my brethren, I would not have you ignorant. You know that when you were heathens, you went to dumb idols, according as you were led. Wherefore I give you to understand, that no man, speaking by the Spirit of God, saith Anathema to Jesus. And no man can say the Lord Jesus, but by the Holy Ghost. Now there are diversities of graces, but the same Spirit; And there are diversities of ministries, but the same Lord; And there are diversities of operations, but the same God, who worketh all in all.  And the manifestation of the Spirit is given to every man unto profitTo one indeed, by the Spirit, is given the word of wisdom: and to another, the word of knowledge, according to the same Spirit; To another, faith in the same spirit; to another, the grace of healing in one Spirit; To another, the working of miracles; to another, prophecy; to another, the discerning of spirits; to another, diverse kinds of tongues; to another, interpretation of speeches…. “And God has appointed in the church first apostles, second prophets, third teachers, then workers of miracles, then healers, helpers, administrators, speakers in various kinds of tongues. Are all apostles? Are all prophets? Are all teachers? Do all work miracles?

2 Peter: 2: 1-5 “But there were also false prophets among the people, even as there shall be among you lying teachers, who shall bring in sects of perdition, and deny the Lord who bought them: bringing upon themselves swift destruction. And many shall follow their riotousnesses, through whom the way of truth shall be evil spoken of. And through covetousness shall they with feigned words make merchandise of you. Whose judgment now of a long time lingereth not, and their perdition slumbereth not. For if God spared not the angels that sinned, but delivered them, drawn down by infernal ropes to the lower hell, unto torments, to be reserved unto judgment: And spared not the original world, but preserved Noe, the eighth person, the preacher of justice, bringing in the flood upon the world of the ungodly” …One ought to ask: is the prevenalt, but clearly taught Doctirne of The “Real Presence”, taught by five separate authors of the bible and Christ Himself; denial of God? I fear it is.

So friends, how do you answer these “Why” questions?

God Bless you,

Patrick Miron

 

Published by

working4christtwo

I am an Informed and fully practicing Roman Catholic

2 thoughts on “Questions to ask yourself by Patrick Miron”

Leave a comment