“Yes!” …..
A Reflection by Patrick Miron

“YES”, like the word “If”, is short in the dictionary, with a common but larger than life reality & purpose….. Yet our YES” is repeated mindlessly as often as not.
I confess to personally being a pragmatic:
What is the definition of a pragmatic leader?

“Idealist leaders are visionary thinkers. … Pragmatic leaders are practical thinkers. They focus on the processes behind any task, {A NY TRUTH} initiative, or goal. Their top priority is to figure out how the team is going to get things done.”

I suppose this accounts for my many years in Sales and Sales Management and Training. {Past tense, as I‘ve been retired for 10 years now}. I have pretty much always considered myself more a salesman for God, than a teacher {by definition} of our beautiful Catholic Faith.

When one gets “old”, one seems to be inclined towards reflective thinking. I’ll soon be 73. {And I admit to be “getting older” BUT NOT yet to “being Old.”} It occurred to me the other day that Jesus too was and is a Pragmatic Leader. …. Have you ever considered Him in this light? Jesus clearly demonstrated a GET IT DONE mentality with a sense of urgency. Jesus knew His time in our midst would be short, and that His Mission was vital to the salvation of humanities Souls.
Matt.5: 37 “Let what you say be simply `Yes’ or `No’; anything more than this comes from evil”….. Sir.15: 17 “Before a man are life and death, {YES and NO} and whichever he chooses will be given to him.

My historical background taught me the urgency of the “NOW!”…. There exist no warranty for second chance opportunities. ….That NOW is the time…. Is an urgency expressed also by Jesus:

Isa.55: 6 to 9 “Seek the LORD while he may be found, call upon him while he is near. Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts; let him return to the LORD, that he may have mercy on him, and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon. For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, says the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.
2Cor.6:2 “For he says, “At the acceptable time I have listened to you, and helped you on the day of salvation.” Behold, now is the acceptable time; behold, now is the day of salvation.”

God will, because as GOD He MUST, pass final judgment upon each human Soul based not on what we have freely chosen to believe, to accept, and to live, regardless of our seemingly good intentions. …. God is a Pragmatic, and will make final judgments based upon what He has made POSSIBLE for each soul to know, to accept, to belief and to live. …. In other words self -imposed ignorance is a very high risk choice.

Don’t permit the highly dangerous and presumptive thought that “there is always tomorrow”; …. Which is silly, even foolish thinking. Unless you’re God, you just don’t know. And none of us are God.

Isaiah 49: 8 – “Thus saith the Lord: In an acceptable time I have heard thee, and in the day of salvation I have helped thee: and I have preserved thee, and given thee to be a covenant of the people, that thou mightest raise up the earth, and possess the inheritances that were destroyed That thou mightest say to them that are bound: Come forth: and to them that are in darkness: Shew yourselves. They shall feed in the ways, and their pastures shall be in every plain.”

It seems undoubtedly clear that Jesus said His “YES” repeatedly, dramatically and demonstrably. …. WHY? It is because Jesus became a mortal human man so that he could, would and did MODEL for us how we are to live our own lives in accord with the gifted dignity of our exclusive emulation of Him. [Gen. 1:26-28 & Isa. 43: 7 & 21]

John.10: 30 “I and the Father are one.” & [11] And now I am no more in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to thee. Holy Father, keep them in thy name, which thou hast given me, that they may be one, even as we are one.

John 17: 11- 22 “And now I am no more in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to thee. Holy Father, keep them in thy name, which thou hast given me, that they may be one, even as we are one. While I was with them, I kept them in thy name, which thou hast given me; I have guarded them, and none of them is lost but the son of perdition, that the scripture might be fulfilled. But now I am coming to thee; and these things I speak in the world, that they may have my joy fulfilled in themselves. I have given them thy word; and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, even as I am not of the world. I do not pray that thou shouldst take them out of the world, but that thou shouldst keep them from the evil one. Sanctify them in the truth; thy word is truth. As thou didst send me into the world, so I have sent them into the world. And for their sake I consecrate myself, that they also may be consecrated in truth. “I do not pray for these only, but also for those who believe in me through their word, that they may all be one; even as thou, Father, art in me, and I in thee, that they also may be in us, so that the world may believe that thou hast sent me. The glory which thou hast given me I have given to them, {CONDITIONALLY}that they may be one even as we are one”

Personally I am able to grasp [accept as truth] the first “Yes” without being able to fully comprehend it. …. That God would freely choose to “become man” is profound enough; that God would do it in the manner taught in the bible is to me at least, inexplicable. I struggle to grasp the level of humility of God to do such a thing willingly.
Luke.2: 7 “And she gave birth to her first-born son and wrapped him in swaddling cloths, and laid him in a manger, because there was no place for them in the inn.”

Our GOD choose to be born in a cave and laid in a manger; a feeding trough…..
So His first “Yes” reminds us that humility is not an option for saints.
There were likely many “yes’s” in between the first and the next “Yes” I will point out. …..
John 2: 1-11 “On the third day there was a marriage at Cana in Galilee, and the mother of Jesus was there; Jesus also was invited to the marriage, with his disciples.

When the wine failed, the mother of Jesus said to him, “They have no wine.” And Jesus said to her, “O woman, what have you to do with me? My hour has not yet come.” His mother said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.” Now six stone jars were standing there, for the Jewish rites of purification, each holding twenty or thirty gallons. Jesus said to them, “Fill the jars with water.” And they filled them up to the brim. He said to them, “Now draw some out, and take it to the steward of the feast.” So they took it. When the steward of the feast tasted the water now become wine, and did not know where it came from (though the servants who had drawn the water knew), the steward of the feast called the bridegroom and said to him, “Every man serves the good wine first; and when men have drunk freely, then the poor wine; but you have kept the good wine until now.” This, the first of his signs, Jesus did at Cana in Galilee, and manifested his glory; and his disciples believed in him.

The second “Yes” of Jesus teaches us that He is “the long awaited Christ [Messiah], and that despite this NOT being the appointed time; there are other forces at work here. …. God the Father is behind this. Keep in mind this in Jesus in his humanity expressing these words.

The next “yes” come at what we have come to term “a TEACHING MOMENT” …. Luke 11: 1 “He was praying in a certain place, and when he ceased, one of his disciples said to him, “Lord, teach us to pray, as John taught his disciples.”
And what is the chief lesson of the Lord’s Prayer? …. Thy Will, not My will BE DONE.” … So easy to say, yet so difficult to do. …. Matt.26: 39 And going a little farther he fell on his face and prayed, “My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as thou wilt.”

Here then is the chief lesson for us; and it is we are to emulate Jesus and not count the personal cost to us; but we are to do what is Good, what is Just, what is lovely, what is fair, what is charitable, what is self-sacrificing, what is beneficial to others, thinking of them first, never counting the cost to ourselves.

Each of us in the State of God’s Grace is given a “bag of gold” [talents and gifts] which we are to use to better the church, our families, all those we associate with and society in general….. We have the option to bury the gold and return it all in tact on Judgment day, or we can take risk, and try our best to make “interest” monies and return the gold WITH interest to God on Judgment day, in emulation of Jesus’s ‘Yes”. Ought we to do anything less?
Rev.3: 16 “So, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spew you out of my mouth”

So the prudent “Yes”, the “Yes” God desires and expects from each of us is for our “YES!!!!! To our God be enthusiastic, Unconditional, without counting the cost; …. this is a WWJD! ….AMEN!
Continued Blessings,
Patrick

