Originally posted on Catholic Answers FORUM by Patrick Miron

[QUOTE]This may sound like a silly question, I know. But I was looking at the promises of the Seven Sorrows Devotion and one of the graces was “I will grant peace to their families” and I was wondering what this particular phrase means. Peace, as in conversion so that God can rest in their hearts? Or freedom from violence? Or grace given to them to help fight temptation?[/QUOTE]

My friend, yours is NOT in the least a “silly question” And the answer to your three examples is :ALL of the above:and MORE

John.14: 27 “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.”

John.20: 19 to 23 “On the evening of that day, the first day of the week, the doors being shut where the disciples were, for fear of the Jews, Jesus came and stood among them and said to them, “Peace be with you.” When he had said this, he showed them his hands and his side. Then the disciples were glad when they saw the Lord. Jesus said to them again, “Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, even so I send you.” And when he had said this, he breathed on them, and said to them, “Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained.”

Here Saint John’s second teaching explains how God intends to accomplish the earlier Teaching. Catholic Sacramental Confession is God’s NORM, Gift & expectation for sin forgiveness. Which is why this Sacrament can correctly & accurately be known as THE SACRAMENT OF KNOWN FORGIVENESS. Countless Souls have experienced this TRUTH first hand.

This kind of “peace” is also what Mary has in mind in Her reference to families.  “The Family that PRAYS together; STAYS” together; is another aspect of this Marian teaching.

While we are created in the very image of our God [Gen 1:26-27] with a mind, intellect and freewill; these are GIFTS from God granted with a specific purpose HOPED for by God; BUT optional for each Soul to choose for themselves.

Isaiah 43: verse 7 & 2 “[7] everyone who is called by my name, whom I created for my glory, whom I formed and made.” & [21] the people whom I formed for myself that THEY MIGHT declare my praise.” [It’s OUR choice!] and this teaching of God’s desire for each and every Soul [1 Tim. 2:3-4 “[3] This is good, and it is acceptable in the sight of God our Savior, [4] who desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.” NEEDS to be tempered with these teachings of Jesus Himself:

Take Up your Cross and Follow Me

Phil.2: 8 “And being found in human form he humbled himself and became obedient unto death, even death on a cross Luke.9 :23 And he said to all, “If any man would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.Mark.8: 34 And he called to him the multitude with his disciples, and said to them, “If any man would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. Luke.9: 23 And he said to all, “If any man would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. Luke.14: 7 Whoever does not bear his own cross and come after me, cannot be my disciple.

So in summary; we ought to expect, as they are GRACE opportunities suffering in this life. What Mary promises GOD will grant to each Soul THROUGH Mary, when we pray as She requested.

GBY, Patrick

