Reflection on Readings for Sunday, June 22, 2014

This summer, I hope to get back in the routine of posting a personal reflection on the readings for Sunday mass.  Often, I feel that as a regular mommy person, I don’t have anything “deep” to share.  Amazingly to me, they are among my most read posts – the top three: “scripture reflections, mantillas and anxiety” – very interesting!!

This Sunday’s readings are about my favorite subject on which I have written many times – the Eucharist.  As Catholics, the Eucharist should be our life’s blood – our soul’s nourishment and breath.   Sadly, I know that for some, receiving the Eucharist is just a symbol, or a routine – something they do when they go to church.  If you have fallen into this slump, I encourage you to re read (very prayerfully and slowly) the words of John’s gospel,

“Amen, amen, I say to you,
unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood,
you do not have life within you. 
Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood
has eternal life,
and I will raise him on the last day. 
For my flesh is true food,
and my blood is true drink. 
Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood
remains in me and I in him…”

Do you believe these words?  Have you allowed them to seep into your mind and your heart?  Jesus is promising us something earth shattering and amazing here – something life changing!  We should be filled with joy!!

Some say that mass is not exciting for them – that other churches offer a better worship experience.  Remember that we don’t go to mass to simply “get a good feeling.”  We go to mass because God is all good and worthy of our Love, and we owe all that we have to Him.  We owe Him worship!  IF we receive good feelings from that worship, then that is a plus, but it is not the reason we do it.  We also go to receive Jesus into our bodies.  That is the best gift we can receive while here on earth – the closest we can be to Christ before our death.

Back to my point – if you don’t feel an intimacy with Christ when you receive Him in the Blessed Sacrament, then ask yourself what you have done to prepare yourself for that great gift?  Have you been to reconciliation lately?  Have you read the readings of the day?  Have you prayed, asking Christ to prepare you to receive Him?  Have you tried to really pay attention in mass – particularly to the liturgy of the word and to the Eucharistic prayers?

I like to close my eyes during the Eucharistic prayers (except for the moments when the host and wine are elevated).   This helps me to block distractions and really focus on Jesus.  Sometimes, I will picture Christ crucified being taken off the cross and placed in my arms.  I thank Him for what He did for you and for me.  After communion, I like to do the same thing.  I close my eyes and talk to Jesus.  I ask Him to fill me with His grace so that all of the bad in me is literally squeezed out by His goodness.  (If I don’t close my eyes, I’m so tempted to watch people coming back from communion – to see who is wearing what and who’s chewing gum, etc.)

Tomorrow is the wonderful feast of Corpus Christi – the Body of Christ.  My family plans to celebrate by attending mass (of course) and attending a special Corpus Christi procession.  I will leave you with a beautiful old prayer, traditionally said after communion:

Soul of Christ, sanctify me
Body of Christ, save me
Blood of Christ, inebriate me
Water from Christ’s side, wash me
Passion of Christ, strengthen me
O good Jesus, hear me
Within Thy wounds hide me
Suffer me not to be separated from Thee
From the malicious enemy defend me
In the hour of my death call me
And bid me come unto Thee
That I may praise Thee with Thy saints
and with Thy angels
Forever and ever
Amen

 

